News Article

RSU & Sports Awards 2024 - Winners

The RSU & Sport Awards 2024 was held on Friday 24th of May and what a fantastic event it was! Find out what happened on the evening!

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

The RSU & Sport Awards 2024 was held on Friday 24th of May and what a fantastic event it was! In collaboration with Sport Roehampton, we were so proud to celebrate all the students who help shape our community at the University of Roehampton.

First of all, Monte Hall looked absolutely stunning. With decorations from Cyndeo Events, the room was transformed into a magical venue fit for the stars.

Have you ever seen Monte look so good?


In order to make our event more inclusive for everyone, this year was the first time the Awards was FREE to attend; attendees had to pay a £5 deposit which was then refunded to them after they came to the event. Tickets have been £20 in the past, so this was something we wanted to do to help students. We also made this event alcohol-free so all students could feel comfortable and those who couldn’t attend before would now be able to enjoy the event with us.  


We had the pleasure of having Vice-Chancellor Jean-Noël Ezingeard open the awards with an inspiring speech and to present the award for Paul & Pilar O’Prey Society of the Year.


Roehampton favourites Afroeats were also there to provide a delicious meal for all attendees!


The Scott Gordon Trio played some brilliant jazz tunes for us during the evening, and they were an absolute hit with students and staff!


All the nominees are wonderful and should be proud of their achievements this year – we are definitely very proud of them!

Here is a list of the RSU Award winners:


Paul & Pilar O’Prey Society of the Year Award:

The Anime & Manga Society


Overcoming Adversity Award:

The Dance Team Society


Society Event of the Year:

Roe Snow Society


Student Leadership Award:

Nicole Jeque


Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversity & Inclusion:

Desi Society


Volunteer Impact Award:

Merran Kay


Sky Sharma Contribution to the Community Award:

Islamic Society


Unsung Hero Award:

Jonathan Nobrega, Liv Frank, Ashley Leboho, Sidney Cialec – Wild Collective


The Changemaking Award:

Johnny Gonzalez 


Spirit of the RSU Award:

George Clayton


If you attended the event this year, we hope you enjoyed your time with us. If you didn’t attend and you like the sound of the RSU and Sports Awards, get involved with the community at RSU and Sports Roehampton over this year and who knows, you could be one of next year’s winners!


The RSU & Sports Awards official photo album is LIVE on our DROPBOX HERE!